Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!! book out; Midnight Man new single

“Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds release their DIG, LAZARUS, DIG!!! book this week. The 46-page hard back four inch square book contains exclusive handwritten lyrics and notes by Nick Cave, photos and illustrations, a three inch CD of the single ‘Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!!’, plus an interview with Nick Cave and British artists Tim Noble And Sue Webster who created the cover art for the album, DIG, LAZARUS, DIG!!!” (Official press release)

FYI: Amazon.com is taking pre-orders now, with July 8th as the release date. They’ve categorized the book as a ‘Limited Edition plus CD’, charging $11.99.

NEW SINGLE – MIDNIGHT MAN – 28th JULY

Yes, the rumors are true — ‘Midnight Man’ will be the new single by Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, the third release from their award winning album, Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!! The cover features original artwork by Nick Cave.

May I say: I love this track with a purple passion!!!

close yr eyes, sleep in him
dream of yr lost sons & daughters
me, I’ll raise up the dorsal fin
& glide up & down the waters
I’ll glide up and down the waters
then I’ll walk upon the l&
& call em out
the ones who doubt
yr midnight man

– Words & Punctuation: Nick Cave

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Morgan Wolfe. Bookmark the permalink.

About Morgan Wolfe

I write contemporary LGBTQ fiction that explores the dark & light of human love and desire. Interests: Progressive politics, visual arts, vintage illustration, mid-century design. French films, Queer cinema. Literary quotes. J'adore Paris. Ich liebe Berlin.

8 thoughts on “Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!! book out; Midnight Man new single

  1. You’re a diamond – thanks Morgan! 🙂 I’ll have a good mooch round the site and have a play with the codes – ta m’dear! 🙂

  2. Why not go to Dave Raggett’s site and bookmark it for future reference?

    http://www.w3.org/MarkUp/Guide/

    Scroll down the page to find the part about “Adding links to other pages” which will tell you how to insert links in the comments. It’s very simple and you’ll get it as soon as you see how he does it. You’ll be a pro in no time. 😀

    My other blog at WordPress converts links automatically. Not Blogger.

    Hugs, Morgan

  3. Hi again Morgan!

    Thanks for the welcome 🙂 ooooh and many thanks for putting the link to the Cave-comic-character page up – I haven’t got my head round how to do HTML (?) codes and the like, as computers and me don’t communicate very well, so I’m never quite sure how to put links up properly… when you get chance sometime, could you email me the HTML line (or whatever it is) I need to type in to do links? Thanks! 🙂

    No need for thanks for the comments – thank YOU for hosting such a wonderful site, full of all kinds of fascinating Nick Cave info! 🙂

    And its an absolute pleasure to chat to you and Debra – and to read other fan’s comments and feedback – its lovely to know that there’s other people out there who’ve been similarly moved and inspired by Nick and the Seeds and their amazing music!

    I’ll email you properly soon 🙂

    Take care,

    *huuuuuugs*

    Kate

  4. Hi Kate,

    You are most welcome to join the conversation. Of course.

    Thanks for the tips on the videos, I’ll check them out and put them up asap. Also, I appreciate your quick review of the “Dig” book. Sounds wonderful! I must have it!

    About that comic strip, you’re right, that ‘tashe and hairdo are unmistakably Cave-inspired. Here’s the actual panel link HERE.

    No rush on the email response, Kate. We all get busy with STUFF.

    Thanks awfully for keeping up with this blog. Both you and Debra are angels for sending your comments, remarks, recollections, and online links to Nick Cave content.

    Hugs back at you from across the miles, between our respective homes in England, Australia, and America. ~ Morgan

  5. Ladies, hallo!

    Morgan, thankyou so much for your gorgeous long email – I’ll send you a proper reply soon 🙂

    Debra, hiya – we’ve already met on Flickr (I’m steeringfornorth) – hope you don’t mind me joining in your chat 🙂

    Its sooooo nice to know there’s other smitten Cave fans out there – I’ve been plugging his music to everyone I know, but aside from 2 of my friends (who were the ones who put me onto Nick and the Seeds in the first place) no-one is that fussed, and tend to dismiss him as ‘depressing’.

    Pah.

    We know better. 🙂

    I’ve just got the Dig!!! book! And wanted to go huuurraaaay! amd tell folks who’ll appreciate how exciting this is! Its a tiny little thing, but is full of fascinating photos and scrawlings and doodles and a nice interview with the artists who made the sign…

    And speaking of Nick goodies, I noticed up on http://my.opera.com/mlynnjohnson/blog/ Melissa (another Cave enthusiast) has linked to a new-ish graphic novel that has a character with a familiar face…

    Check out http://my.opera.com/mlynnjohnson/blog/?startidx=10 (sroll down to her entry for 27th June) or click here if it works:

    http://comicbookresources.com/?page=article&id=16776 – scroll down to the bottom of the page, and click on the last 4 panels of the comic…

    anyone recognise that tache? 😉

    Lastly (then I really must stop this and go to work 😉 ) Morgan, have you come across these documentary clips? I’ve just sent Deb the link to it on Flickr – I’ve seen pieces of it on the ‘And No More Shall We Part’ dvd, but there’s a lot of it thats new to me – specially the interview:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aM6HZjQ76II (parts 2-5 are also up on Youtube)

    Right. Must go and work… 🙂

    Take care, thanks for sharing your wonderful Nick thoughts!

    Hugs across the miles from
    Kate

  6. Hi Deb,

    I wondered where you’d gone off to.

    In my bizarre world, there is no place or time that doesn’t include Nick Cave. There’s always some thing I have to do to keep up with it all. You who read/look have it easy, let me tell ya. ;D

    I’m glad that you are going to get za book soon (*Blixa accent*).

    Me, I ordered a bunch of stuff the other night, trying to fill the gaps in my Cave catalog, which of course includes The Birthday Party.

    AND HE JUST KEEPS CREATING MORE STUFF. god, when will it end?

    BTW: I just read your comment at Morgan’s Musings ‘Nick Cave Photo Gallery’. I’m answering now, laughing and sort of crying, too.

    He’s comsuming me! I thought it was the other way around. Deep, huh? I wrote something about it but can’t bring myself to publish it. It’d be nice if more of the ladies reading this talked (we say ‘tawked’ in this part of Connecticut, which I blame on the New Yorkers because we’re brought up to speak quite properly) about their secret Nick Cave longings. Misery loves company.

    LADIES, PLEASE POST A COMMENT AND TELL ME ABOUT YOUR PAIN!

    Hugs and smiles,
    Morgan

  7. hi morgan,

    have had this on pre order for a couple of weeks and was told finally last week that it had been despatched, so i should be getting it this week i hope. :)))
    midnight man is one of my faves from DLD.

    warm regards
    Deb

Leave a comment or a fix.

