Composing ‘The Road’ – Cave & Ellis

Just wanted to pass along this Daily Telegraph article —

Nick Cave: part of me is screaming to get out
July 17, 2008

Cave and Warren Ellis will be composing the score for the film version of Cormac McCarthy’s devastating post-apocalyptic novel, The Road, which John Hillcoat is filming now. Talking about the raw emotional effect of a book that, at its core, is about paternal love and sacrifice, Cave confesses, “Those last 15 pages I was weeping. I can’t remember when a book last had that effect on me. It’s so violent, that he could creep into this incredibly sentimental story, housed in such unforgiving terrain.”

I look forward to another wonderful score from Nick and Warren.

The Road is essential reading, imo. I read my copy over a few days, practically non-stop. Harrowing and sorrowful. It doesn’t surprise me that Nick was so moved by the story, a deeply intimate portrait of a dying father’s last days with his young son. So many lessons in that book about living in the moment and moving forward in the face of ceaseless despair and utter desolation. It touched me deeply, as well. My favorite quote: “You forget what you want to remember and remember what you want to forget.” – Cormac McCarthy, The Road

See, also: Nick Cave’s Swear Box

This entry was posted in Warren Ellis by Morgan Wolfe. Bookmark the permalink.

About Morgan Wolfe

I write contemporary LGBTQ fiction that explores the dark & light of human love and desire. Interests: Progressive politics, visual arts, vintage illustration, mid-century design. French films, Queer cinema. Literary quotes. J'adore Paris. Ich liebe Berlin.

Leave a comment or a fix.

