Nick Cave’s ‘Dictionary of Words’

Nick Cave: Black Dogs and other animals
by Nick Cave
Art & Australia‘s Spring 2008 issue

Like many people, I am a compulsive doodler. Some people doodle eyeballs or Eiffel Towers or swastikas or whatever, but I doodle naked women and have done so since I was eleven-years-old. View excerpted article

Nick Cave's 'Handwritten dictionary of words', from his 1984 notebook, from Art & Australia's Spring 2008 issue

This Nick Fix was submitted by Melbourne Deb, who has been a Nick Devotee since BND era. A long-time fan of a long-time man, Deb will be seeing Mr. Cave next January, when NC&tBS return home to Australia for a post-holiday tour! A little birdie told us that Deb would very much like to meet Nick as a special way of celebrating her 30th anniversary as a Nick Cave Fan. I cannot think of anyone more deserving! Anybody out there interested in helping? Please leave a comment and we’ll happily forward the info to Deb.

This entry was posted in News & Updates by Morgan Wolfe. Bookmark the permalink.

About Morgan Wolfe

I write contemporary LGBTQ fiction that explores the dark & light of human love and desire. Interests: Progressive politics, visual arts, vintage illustration, mid-century design. French films, Queer cinema. Literary quotes. J'adore Paris. Ich liebe Berlin.

4 thoughts on “Nick Cave’s ‘Dictionary of Words’

  1. Hehe, Nick and that self-deprecating humor, I presume πŸ˜€

    I’m the opposite with notebooks – I tend to purposefully destroy them bit by bit til I have to buy a new one πŸ™‚

  2. Not ‘too kind’ — you are a treasure, girl. I hope you realize your dream and meet him. You never know!!!! πŸ™‚

    Laura, I used to keep notebooks full of quotes but I don’t know many writers who keep word definitions. But it’s interesting to know this about Nick.

    Seen a few of those self-portraits. The ‘Help’ portrait is sad and lonely. What was going on/not going on in 1993? I adore the Loverman drawing. Sometimes, I think he’s rather hard on himself. Quite strange that he’s always naked (almost always). And that he gets the nose right.

  3. Great post, thanks for the material, Deb, and thanks to Morgan for putting it up πŸ˜‰ I’ve been fascinated with this whole instance of Nick making his own dictionaries during the writing of ATASTA since hearing about it in some documentary or other – it’s awesome to see a sample!

    I’m sure you’ve all seen these before, but here are some examples of Nick’s self-portraits πŸ˜€

Leave a comment or a fix.

