Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds Live 1984 Barcelona

Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds – First US Tour
666 Club, Barcelona (23.11.1984)
Line Up: Nick Cave/Blixa Bargeld/Barry Adamson/Mick Harvey

St. Huck (8th song in the set)

Tx to Prick Mayall

Set List: Blind Lemon Jefferson/ Train Long Suffering/ From Her To Eternity/ Say Goodbye To The Little Girl Tree/ Tupelo/ I Put A Spell On You/ Well Of Misery/ Saint Huck/ Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door.

Blind Lemon Jefferson (NC&TBS)
#1 11/23/84 (666 Club, Barcelona)

Train Long-Suffering (NC&TBS)
#2 11/23/84 (666 Club, Barcelona)

From Her to Eternity (NC&TBS)
#3 11/23/84 (666 Club, Barcelona)

Say Goodbye to the Little Girl Tree (NC&TBS)
#4 11/23/84 (666 Club, Barcelona)

Tupelo (NC&TBS)
#5 11/23/84 (666 Club, Barcelona)

I Put A Spell On You (NC&TBS)
#6 11/23/84 (666 Club, Barcelona)

Well of Misery (NC&TBS)
#7 11/23/84 (666 Club, Barcelona)

St. Huck (NC&TBS)
#8 11/23/84 (666 Club, Barcelona)

Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door (NC&TBS)
#9 11/23/84 (666 Club, Barcelona)

This entry was posted in Memorabilia by Morgan Wolfe. Bookmark the permalink.

About Morgan Wolfe

I write contemporary LGBTQ fiction that explores the dark & light of human love and desire. Interests: Progressive politics, visual arts, vintage illustration, mid-century design. French films, Queer cinema. Literary quotes. J'adore Paris. Ich liebe Berlin.

10 thoughts on “Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds Live 1984 Barcelona

  1. Hi Maz, thanks for the link πŸ™‚ Love how “Milhaven” got stuck in his head, oops! πŸ˜€ Thanks for the Fix!

    Sofarfromme, thanks for the video link! Hehe, love his “scissors motion” and “how’s the lighting” at the end πŸ™‚ Very amusing, thanks!

  2. @Laura,

    >Sometimes you have to wait til you're ready to receive …< AMEN to that! Beautifully put. I think you're into creating literature tonight, darlin'. πŸ˜‰

    The Blues don't care if you're some skinny white kid from OZ. Don't work that way. Odder still, consider how Blixa, a skinny white GERMAN kid learned how to play slide guitar on these tracks? It blows my mind, I tellya. πŸ™‚

    Great conversation = music and where it comes from.

    Occasionally you still hear people put down Elvis because he 'stole' the blues. Hah? Nobody steals the Blues. It's a condition, a force of nature, it takes ahold of you, and it has to come out, like a child from a pregnant woman's belly. There is no choice in the matter. Good on ya, Nick. And Blixa. I love it. Still love it. Will always love it.

  3. @ Morgan –
    You put it better than I ever could.
    >>Boy, you either got the Blues, or you don't. And with Blixa by his side on the dirty, nasty slider guitar? They were both innocents, you know? Uncorrupted, and therefore, they never considered that maybe they shouldn't be trying that style of music. It just came out, which is what happens with that kind of music.<<

    I completely agree. I think in this era Nick tapped into something an artist just can't mimic. If you've got it, it comes out πŸ™‚ He's got the blues baby. He's got it in his soul, and even though he looks back now and claims he was trying too hard to be like JLH, I disagree. I think Nick owns the blues as much as any great blues singer. You either got it or you don't, and if you got it, it's part of your soul's heritage and it's your right to express it, regardless of whether or not you're a skinny white kid from Australia πŸ˜€

    Yeah, it took seeing this performance a while back for me to finally love First Born though. Seeing the footage just made it click for me. Sometimes you have to wait til you're ready to receive an album properly πŸ˜€ Happened to me with The Boatman's Call too. I disliked that album the first year or so I had it, and then one day…*boom* πŸ˜€
    I'll shut up now! Hehe πŸ™‚

  4. @Laura,
    I remember you telling me that it wasn’t your favorite album. Man, that man wails/whales (both apply) on this sh*t. He was born to sing the Blues. I don’t care if he thinks, in retrospect, that he was just copying John Lee Hooker. Stupid thing to think, Nick. Give yourself the credit for it! I want to say to him, Nick, Hon, you may be singing in a style that was inspired by John Lee. You don’t just sit down and decide to copy somebody else’s style and then come and deliver that kind of freakin’ performance. That show is badass!!! I would take that show, with all its flaws and poor quality and trade it for anything he did with Grinderman. That’s my opinion, and I’m not trying to insult new/recent fans or, for sure, Nick himself. But I know the Blues and that sh*t was GOLDEN! I’ve seen John Lee live and lots of others who’ve passed, God rest them. If these men were here, they’d say, Boy, you either got the Blues, or you don’t. And with Blixa by his side on the dirty, nasty slider guitar? They were both innocents, you know? Uncorrupted, and therefore, they never considered that maybe they shouldn’t be trying that style of music. It just came out, which is what happens with that kind of music. Nick had left TBP and was finding his way in the darkness. The Blues called his sweet name and he answered, baby. OMFG. I have to stop talking … I’m nuts for this time period in Nick’s career. Sorry for freakin’ out. πŸ™‚

  5. I LOVE this show. Absolutely brilliant. After I saw this performance I gained a whole new appreciation for The First Born Is Dead. Before it had been my least fav of the early Bad Seeds albums, but now I listen to it every damn day πŸ™‚

Leave a comment or a fix.

