Gudrun Gut & Anita Lane: Firething

A little something hot on an early spring evening…

Here are Gudrun Gut [Mania D, Malaria!, Ocean Club, entrepreneur, artist, former business partner of Blixa Bargeld] and Anita Lane [singer, songwriter, artist-collaborator with Blixa Bargeld (Blume) and Nick Cave (From Her to Eternity, Stranger than Kindness)] performing a fantastic duet that alludes to Nick Cave’s infamous, erm, Zippo.  Burn it down, ladies.

Firething – Gudrun Gut/Anita Lane (1996)
Directed by Angela Conway

Gudrun: He is passive-aggressive.  He hates women.
Anita: How he lets me use his firething…


Tx to gudrungut  (the Lady, herself)

Look under page cut for Malaria! videos and more Berlin 80s.

Malaria – Trash Me

uh, trash me for my pleasure
beyond this world that we despise
uh, you give me such a joy and I –
I kiss the darkest places
and you embrace me like a toy.

This is my personal favorite by Malaria!. Look closely and you’ll see FM Einheit in the audience watching the ladies. Brilliant.
Tx to poisondoor

Malaria – Your Turn to Run
Tx to gudrungut

Malaria – You, You (promo video)
Tx to clituser

*Post updated 20 Feb 2010

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Morgan Wolfe. Bookmark the permalink.

About Morgan Wolfe

I write contemporary LGBTQ fiction that explores the dark & light of human love and desire. Interests: Progressive politics, visual arts, vintage illustration, mid-century design. French films, Queer cinema. Literary quotes. J'adore Paris. Ich liebe Berlin.

4 thoughts on “Gudrun Gut & Anita Lane: Firething

  1. Firething. Laughing out loud at the expressions on both of their faces during and after the last lyric “he lets you use his lighter”. That one line crashes the fantasy to earth – a fitting ending.

    Sometimes a music video is necessary to complete a song as a piece of art, to show it in its entirety. This is the case here, I feel, because there’s a lot of dialogue through gesture between the two singers, words and double meanings that cannot be conveyed through hearing alone.

  2. I edited the post to include more Malaria vids – omfg some wonderful stuff, almost died watching it. Rare, Berlin 80s. Jamie, I agree Anita is lovely. Gudrun call kill – with. just. one. look.

Comments are closed.