Nick Cave: The Weeping Song ‘is always for Blixa Bargeld.’


Southside Festival photo by Sinsira

Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds – The Weeping Song
Live at Dresden, June 21, 2009
(corrected on edit)
Aww, Nick’s a prince:  “Blixa? Well, he went away. He went away about five years ago. And this song… (unintelligible audience member response)… I know, it’s…well that’s kind of you to say, sir. But this is for Blixa Bargeld. This is always for Blixa Bargeld.”

Tx to misanthrop01110308

More Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds Summer Festival vids under the cut. Stay tuned for a Nick Cave ‘video fix’ circa Summer 1998!

Moonland – Hurricane Festival Schessel, 21 Jun 09
Tx to mga

Mercy Seat – Hurricane Festival, 21 Jun 09
Tx to Mr JelloB

Ship Song – Dresden, 22 Jun 09
Tx to baedkaeferin

Tupelo (short) Southside Festival, 19 Jun 09
Tx to DaveGrohl85

TOUR STORY ARCHIVES: Warren Ellis on Blixa Bargeld

Warren is a bit of a wildman on tour, or at least he used to be. I forgot where I heard this story but I’m pretty it was Warren’s personal account. One night he was so drunk he fell through a glass table in a hotel lobby. Blixa Bargeld happened to be walking by and found him. Blixa proceeded to pick Warren up and carried him up to his room, only to find that Warren had lost his keycard. Warren said Blixa put him on the floor, made sure he was okay, then went back down to get the manager, who opened the door. There were no details about Warren’s injuries, just that he appreciated his former bandmate’s heroics.

More Dresden photos from 21 Jun 09 at LaLaLadybird’s photo stream:
Nick tuning guitar | Warren w/bandaged wrist

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Morgan Wolfe. Bookmark the permalink.

About Morgan Wolfe

I write contemporary LGBTQ fiction that explores the dark & light of human love and desire. Interests: Progressive politics, visual arts, vintage illustration, mid-century design. French films, Queer cinema. Literary quotes. J'adore Paris. Ich liebe Berlin.

13 thoughts on “Nick Cave: The Weeping Song ‘is always for Blixa Bargeld.’

  1. Hurray !
    Gone be the damned moustache !
    Now loose the silly 70’s shirts and suits
    and we can all breathe easily again

    love the fixes, keep it up !
    Thanks

  2. RE: “… But this is for Blixa Bargeld. This is always for Blixa Bargeld.”

    >That has got to be a piece of the best stage banter ever.

    Yes, another one for the books. Stunning. Then he proceeds to bitch-slap that song into submission, the ending a banishing mantra: “We won’t be weeping long” … repeated in loud growls until he’s finally convinced himself it’s true. Quite a performance!

    BTW, imo, the stage banter champion is: ‘Are you touching my c*ck? Jesus Christ! I’m 51 years old! (looks at Warren) ‘I can’t believe I just said that!’ 😛

    • > BTW, imo, the stage banter champion is: ‘Are you touching my c*ck? Jesus Christ! I’m 51 years old! (looks at Warren) ‘I can’t believe I just said that!’ 😛

      It’s definitely the winner. Can’t believe I forgot about that one. And it was at that same event that Mick called Nick a “–cking arsehole” on stage. Fun all around.

  3. So, I’m spamming the comments again… I was just looking at the second image of Nick – the one where his right hand is in the air and his left is holding the guitar neck – and noticed that the smoke above his head looks like the lower half of a big face watching from his left-hand side with the over-exposed starburst light on his right. You can, or I can, see the lips – top lip shadowed as if the light is coming from above.

    Random oddness for the day.

    • More oddness… the color tones in both photographs (taken by different photogs) and the Weeping Song video match (purple, black, gold). And they match the colors in our Bulletin Board icon.

    • I totally see it. In fact, to me it looks like younger NC lips.

      As far as this post is concerned, THANK YOU. Amazing videeos. And the “Moonland” one totally sends me back to the concert…that just sums up what I remember from it so well. 😀

  4. Nick looks younger without the ‘tache. I admire.

    > “Blixa? Well, he went away. He went away about five years ago. And this song… (unintelligible audience member response)… I know, it’s…well that’s kind of you to say, sir. But this is for Blixa Bargeld. This is always for Blixa Bargeld.”

    That has got to be a piece of the best stage banter ever.

    More interesting stage banter from WTAI…

    • Awwwww, Polly…she is amazing. I have White Chalk on my desk and the cover always creeps me out in a good way. But I have loved her since 2000 when my friend and I used to drive around during lunch hour at school, blasting 4 Track Demos. 😀

      • Which means, I was a fan of hers two years or so longer than NC. When I found out they’d been together, I was like, “NO WAY! THAT IS AWESOME!” 😀

      • > Awwwww, Polly…she is amazing.

        Yeah, she’s pretty good. I found out about her when Murder Ballads came out, though a friend of mine had been a fan before then, and I had no idea.

        > I have White Chalk on my desk and the cover always creeps me out in a good way.

        Your White Chalk cover reminded me of this photo:

        pjh_wc

        If you look on the top-right shelf in the image, Henry Lee is faced out like a picture in a frame. So it’s covers in covers, wheels in wheels etc.

    • Odd but there are other people talking about Polly references. Someone on the ncatbs forum was at Dresden and said Nick mentioned her during Midnight Man “wake me up when Polly gets here”. SEE: http://forums.nickcaveandthebadseeds.com/viewtopic.php?t=23909

      That remark sounds rather like one of F.Nick Cave’s Tweets about Anita. http://twitter.com/nickcave

      There was also mention of Nick not feeling well. I noticed his skin color wasn’t good in LaLaLadybird’s Photo Stream. Usually, I love her work, especially the photos of Blixa and Neubauten.

      FYI: LaLaLadybird’s Nick Cave at Dresden photostream:
      http://www.flickr.com/photos/16404183@N02/

      FYI: LaLaLadybird’s pics of Blixa. She took the famous glasses photo titled ‘Uncle Blixa’. Wonderful. She confides in one caption, “He is a beast.” I’m sure he is, LLL. *sigh*
      Uncle Blixa ;)
      Neubauten
      Blixa Bargeld

      Glad you like the vids, Devin. Tanz, I’ll do my best. 😉

      • > Odd but there are other people talking about Polly references.

        Hmmm, the plot thickens.

        I’ll keep an eye out for any Midnight Man audio or video.

Leave a comment or a fix.

