Tender Prey, Henry’s Dream, The Good Son Re-masters

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds Re-masters Out 3/30
Tender Prey, The Good Son and Henry’s Dream Re-mastered in 5.1.

Each deluxe edition contains the re-mastered stereo album, the new surround mix, a specially commissioned short film by UK artists Iain Forsyth and Jane Pollard plus the b-sides from the singles, videos and exclusive sleeve notes. (Mute.com) PRESS RELEASE

FULL TRACKLISTINGS:

Tender Prey

1. The Mercy Seat
2. Up Jumped The Devil
3. Deanna
4. Watching Alice
5. Mercy
6. City Of Refuge
7. Slowly Goes The Night
8. Sunday’s Slave
9. Sugar, Sugar, Sugar
10. New Morning

Collectors Edition extras
Album in 5:1
Extra tracks
The Mercy Seat (Video version)
Girl at the Bottom of my Glass
The Mercy Seat (Acoustic version)
City of Refuge (Acoustic version)
Deanna (Acoustic version)

Videos: – also available for download to MP3/Ipod

Do You Love Me Like I Love You (Part 5)
The Mercy Seat
Deanna
Do You Love Me Like I Love You (Part 5: Tender Prey directed by Iain Forsyth and Jane Pollard)
________________________

The Good Son

1. Foi Na Cruz
2. The Good Son
3. Sorrow’s Child
4. The Weeping Song
5. The Ship Song
6. The Hammer Song
7. Lament
8. The Witness Song
9. Lucy

Collectors Edition extras

Album in 5:1
Extra tracks
The Train Song
Cocks ‘n’ Asses
Helpless

Videos: – also available for download to MP3/Ipod

Do You Love Me Like I Love You (Part 6)
The Weeping Song
The Ship Song
Do You Love Me Like I Love You (Part 6: The Good Son) directed by Iain Forsyth and Jane Pollard)

_______________________________

Henry’s Dream

1. Papa Won’t Leave You, Henry
2. I Had A Dream, Joe
3. Straight To You
4. Brother, My Cup Is Empty
5. Christina the Astonishing
6. When I First Came To Town
7. John Finn’s Wife
8. Loom Of The Land
9. Jack The Ripper

Collector’s Edition extras

Album in 5:1
Extra tracks
Blue Bird
Jack The Ripper (Acoustic version)
I Had a Dream Joe (Live)
The Good Son (Live)
The Mercy Seat (Live)
The Carny (Live)
The Ship Song (Live)

Videos: – also available for download to MP3 / iPod

Do You Love Me Like I Love You (Part 7)
I Had a Dream, Joe
Straight to You
Jack the Ripper (Acoustic Version)
Do You Love Me Like I Love You (Part 7: Henry’s Dream), directed by Iain Forsyth and Jane Pollard
________________________________

ALBUM COVER ART, TEXTS & BAND PHOTOS are from the official website:
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS – “REISSUES” 

___________________

Previous Re-masters:

___________________

From Her to Eternity –  The Firstborn is Dead 

Kicking Against the PricksYour Funeral, My Trial

This entry was posted in News & Updates and tagged by Morgan Wolfe. Bookmark the permalink.

About Morgan Wolfe

I write contemporary LGBTQ fiction that explores the dark & light of human love and desire. Interests: Progressive politics, visual arts, vintage illustration, mid-century design. French films, Queer cinema. Literary quotes. J'adore Paris. Ich liebe Berlin.

7 thoughts on “Tender Prey, Henry’s Dream, The Good Son Re-masters

  1. As someone who just listens to music on a generic stereo/boombox and an ipod, I haven’t seen the point of getting the reissues. Are there previously unseen photos and things in the liner notes? And the b-sides being previously on the B-Sides “album” also sways me away from purchasing them.

    And isn’t the Do You Love Me “film” fans talking about the album and not the Bad Seeds?

    I always WANT to buy the remasters, but I have always thought, since the videos and everything are available elsewhere, I don’t need them. But for audiophiles, I can see how they’d be amazing.

    • Hi Andrea, I think the reasons are pretty much the same for most people, i.e. remastered sound (supervised by Mick Harvey btw); the ‘Do You Love Me’ original film extracts by Iain and Jane — with their respective cast of characters; and the various audio/video extras. These reissues are marketed for collectors but they are reasonably priced and therefore accessible to everyone. In fact, I just checked Amazon.com and found all three new reissues plus From Her to Eternity are available for just $13.99 (USD). Maybe it’s a good time to start your Nick Cave collection. 🙂

  2. Nobody can see either video unless you go to YouTube. Embedding is disabled. Hopefully the glitches in viewing limitations will be worked out. My apologies to all concerned for any confusion with the content here.

    On Edit: I’ve included two mp3 samples from my personal copy for you to enjoy here at Nick Cave Fixes. However, there are more audio samples from the remastered reissues at the band’s offical website. They sound fantastic. FYI: Each album title in the above post is linked to the respective page at nickcaveandthebadseeds.com

  3. Hi Ellen & 1984

    Sorry to hear that the ‘The Weeping Song’ video is not viewable in Sweden. It’s nice to see this one, even if Blixa is pink (he hates that). When I watched the ‘Deanna’ video and realized it was muted, I thought, wtf? But who am I to criticize? I’m sure that Mute Records has a reason for everything they do. On a happy note, I am overjoyed to see the band’s website includes photos, text, and audio embeds from the remasters. Us bloggers won’t have as much work to do in the future. 😉

Leave a comment or a fix.

