Oh Sweet Babies: Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds @930 Club (’80s)

Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds @ 930 Club, Washington DC (late ’80s)
What a rare and beautiful thing…… *falling on my knees, weeping*
If this is the 930 Club, late ’80s, this is from 8-9 Feb 1989. ย Songs: Long Time Man, Train Long Suffering. Lineup: Nick Cave (vocals), Blixa Bargeld (guitar/vocals), Mick Harvey (bass/vocals) Kid Congo Powers (guitar), Roland Wolf (keyboards), Thomas Wydler (drums).

Tx to peyoteshaman

Viva 2 Interview – under the cut

Nick Cave interviewed by Tanja Mairhofer for German music TV Viva Zwei

Tx to polghirstenskoetter

5 thoughts on “Oh Sweet Babies: Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds @930 Club (’80s)

  1. Ellen, nice to see you posting. How you been, girl? I was worried about this summer when the temperatures were dangerously hot and you seemed to disappear. Did she melt? (I wondered but it was too hot to try and find out). ๐Ÿ™‚

    Anna, I agree the colors make all the difference. You’ve got a good eye for film. I did the same thing and I immediately compared this video to Uli Schueppel’s lovely b&w footage (which I usually prefer for most vintage concerts). That 930 club video is pure gold. When I saw it, I whimpered like a dog. The crisp colors are almost unbearable. Hey, I didn’t know that about the hangover. Thanks for the trivia! I live for this stuff.

    • Oh yeah Uli`s film is incredibly beautiful. He did such a good job and I love the b&w and how fragile the film is. But yeah, its so interesting to see what it looked like with colours as well. I especially love the footage of the late 80s, somehow I feel really drawn to that period.

      The story about the hangover at the pool is told by him in this one: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8uf7Z3FOfPg, but I don`t remember in which part it was at the moment ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Of course I know “The Road To God Knows Where” excerpts of that tour but its so nice to see something in full length and with colours, thanks ๐Ÿ™‚ Those were the days…intense and impressive.

    Cool Interview. Nick and his office, its funny how often he has to say that – now that he no longer writes in the office for Grinderman so much it must be really interesting for him as he did this office-thing for so long without many exceptions, but as he said in this little film “Abusing the Muse” that he did “O`Malleys Bar” at a swimming pool and that he was sick and hungover and still in his suit and as I think that song is good I guess he can write good songs everywhere ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a comment or a fix.

