Nick Cave, John le Carre, Murder Ballads

Noteworthy: Pursued by a Bear: what John le Carre and Nick Cave have in common (Laurence Mackin, The Irish Times, 30 Mar 2011), which compares novelist John le Carre’s recent request to be removed from competition for the Man Booker prize to Nick Cave’s 1996 refusal to MTV.

“I am enormously flattered to be named as a finalist of the 2011 Man Booker International prize. However, I do not compete for literary prizes and have therefore asked for my name to be withdrawn.” – John le Carre, 2011

“I would like to start by thanking you all for the support you have given me over recent years and I am both grateful and flattered by the nominations that I have received for best male artist. The air play given to both the Kylie Minogue and PJ Harvey duets from my latest album Murder Ballads has not gone unnoticed and has been greatly appreciated. So again my sincere thanks.

“Having said that, I feel that it’s necessary for me to request that my nomination for best male artist be withdrawn and furthermore any awards or nominations for such awards that may arise in later years be presented to those who feel more comfortable with the competitive nature of these award ceremonies. I myself, do not. I have always been of the opinion that my music is unique and individual and exists beyond the realms inhabited by those who would reduce things to mere measuring. I am in competition with no-one…” – Nick Cave, 1996

Laurence Mackin: “You can’t buy class like that.” (LINK)

We concur.

The album in question was, of course, Murder Ballads.

Due to the enormous success of Nick’s collaboration with Kylie Minogue on “Where the Wild Roses Grow” the band are catapulted into the ‘surreal’ realm of pop stardom and requisite television performances on shows like British TV’s long-running show “Top of the Pops”.

What follows is a relevant extract from the “Great Australian Albums: Murder Ballads” documentary, which aired December 13 2008 on Australia’s SBS TV. Interesting in retrospect as the Collector’s Edition reissue of Murder Ballads is due out in May.

Great Australian Albums: Murder Ballads (includes footage from Big Day Out Festival 1996 and commentary by Nick Cave & Kylie Minogue)
Tx to saw1110ful

Nick Cave & Kylie Minogue | Where the Wild Roses Grow (Official Video)
Tx to MEGAINDIEROCK

Fan photograph of Kylie Minogue and Nick Cave, 1996.

 

Related post: Nick Cave – a Murder Ballads Retrospective (14 May 2010)

This entry was posted in 1990s Era, TV Broadcasts by Morgan Wolfe. Bookmark the permalink.

About Morgan Wolfe

I write contemporary LGBTQ fiction that explores the dark & light of human love and desire. Interests: Progressive politics, visual arts, vintage illustration, mid-century design. French films, Queer cinema. Literary quotes. J'adore Paris. Ich liebe Berlin.

Leave a comment or a fix.

