Nick Cave and the Cavemen – Electric Ballroom – 1984

Here’s Nick Cave & the Cavemen, Electric Ballroom (as broadcast on La Edad de Oro).

Interesting ‘behind the scenes’ anecdote & photo (under the cut):

“The only time I’ve ever seen Marc Almond (in the flesh) was at a gig in Camden’s Electric Ballroom in 1984. It was a Sisters of Mercy gig. Marc was hanging out with Nick Cave and Blixa Bargeld and was stoned and zombie-like, dressed in black and red with layers of panstick and eyeliner. His hair was long, jet-black and crimped (a style I soon adopted). When he walked it was like he was falling forwards in slow motion. I will never forget seeing him – he radiated cool, people parted like the Red Sea to let him through whilst feigning complete disinterest in the tiny popstar…”
-Ged Babey (via Aristotlex)

Blixa Bargeld & Marc Almond (backstage @Electric Ballroom circa 1984)

(Note: place/date in question.  Photographer unknown)

NOTE: Aristotlex and I are trying to figure out this date. The above-mentioned SOM gig where Marc was hanging with Nick and Blixa took place on 24 May but the band were in Hamburg that night. So the mystery remains as to when this picture of Blixa and Marc was snapped. We’re guessing sometime between Feb/May 1984.

4 thoughts on “Nick Cave and the Cavemen – Electric Ballroom – 1984

  1. I wasn’t at the April Cavemen gig at the Electric Ballroom but I went to the Bad Seeds one on 7 November 1984 (28 years ago today – where did the time go?!!) and Marc Almond was definitely in the audience at that one – I remember seeing him sitting at the bar.

  2. Janet :

    I saw Marc at the Nick Cave and the Cavemen gig at the electric ballroom on my 16th birthday so maybe it was there. He was with Jim Feotus if my memory serves me well.

    Thank you, Janet! I thought it was most likely at the Nick Cave and the Cavemen show on 12 April. The question remains, was the picture of Marc and Blixa taken backstage at that gig? He’s wearing the priest collar, hair looks the same, and they were all together at the time. Anybody else who might have been there, please post? Thanks!

  3. I saw Marc at the Nick Cave and the Cavemen gig at the electric ballroom on my 16th birthday so maybe it was there. He was with Jim Feotus if my memory serves me well.

Leave a comment or a fix.

