Nick Cave writes song for Mavis Staples

Nick Cave is among the artists who have written a song for Mavis Staples‘ upcoming album “Livin’ on a High Note”.

I’ve been singing my freedom songs and I wanted to stretch out and sing some songs that were new,” Mavis explains. “I told the writers I was looking for some joyful songs. I want to leave something to lift people up; I’m so busy making people cry, not from sadness, but I’m always telling a part of history that brought us down and I’m trying to bring us back up. Source.

The song Nick Cave wrote is called “Jesus Lay Down Beside Me”.

The album comes out February 19th.

Here is a title track “High Note” written by Valerie June.

One thought on “Nick Cave writes song for Mavis Staples

  1. Pingback: Listen to Jesus Lay Down Beside Me | Nick Cave Fixes

Leave a comment or a fix.

